Red-Eye Gravy

Red Eye Gravy and Country Ham

Country Ham

Country ham is to American cooks what prosciutto is to Italians.  I must be a southerner born and bred because honestly I’d rather have a nice Virginia country ham than prosciutto.  A real country ham is salt-cured, and either not smoked or only lighted smoked.  On a properly cured ham the fat is soft and easy to eat.  There are a wide variety of ways to eat country ham, and you can buy them both cooked and uncooked.  (Note the two embedded links in the above paragraph for examples.)

One of my favorite ways is sliced thin and fried in a skillet.  All you use are the ham and just enough butter to coat the bottom of the pan.  I cook it at around 250 degrees and just leave it, flipping it once, but otherwise ignoring it for 12-15 minutes.  That’s not hot enough to burn the fat or the butter, but is plenty hot to cook it through and give a nice crispness to the exterior.

Nothing could be simpler than red-eye gravy, although I am constantly amazed at how often it is done wrong.  The Wikipedia description of how to make it actually makes me queasy and a bit horrified.  Eww.

I melt equal volumes of butter and brown sugar with all the remaining ham grease from cooking the ham, then add about three to four times the same volume of left over coffee.  Add the coffee last to deglaze the pan, then turn the heat up a bit and reduce it, stirring constantly until it begins to thicken.  Shake a few shakes of black pepper over it.   Pour it off into a bowl, scraping out the thicker parts on the bottom as well.

Ingredients:

Ham grease, Butter, Brown Sugar — equal volume of each

Coffee — Add 2-4 times the volume of the above of coffee, to deglaze the above, then reduce

Black pepper — several shakes of black pepper while reducing.

This morning I fried up some ham and made some hard dry rye toast.  I made red eye gravy using 2 tbls of butter, 2 tbls of brown sugar, and about ½ a cup of strong coffee left over from our morning pot.  I covered the toast with cream cheese, then put on a layer of the ham, and sauced red-eye gravy on the top.  Frankly, this was “oh my god” good.

A few tips.  When I first learned to make redeye gravy, it was using coffee that had been in a percolator for a couple of hours.  So using old strong coffee is a good thing. If you have enough ham grease you can add less butter, or add more butter to make a larger quantity of gravy.  Having some good fond from the ham in the pan is excellent for the deglazing part, it adds more flavor.

With Red-Eye Gravy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Red-Eye Gravy”

  1. Weekly Update, December 12 « Food Garden Kitchen Says:

    [...] will go ahead and relink to my red-eye gravy post.  I noticed however, that when I was making it today, that I left something out in that [...]

  2. Ginny Says:

    I’m glad I came to visit…I’ve learned a few things here and agree with a lot that was said..I also am happy I finally got a recipe for Red- Eye -Gravy from some one in the know :o).

    • foodgardenkitchen Says:

      We’re most pleased you came to visit, and hope to see you again. It’s nice to see someone else who lives pretty close to us, and one of us was born in Greensboro. I hope the recipe works out for you, and look forward to hearing more from you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

