Preserved Salsa Recipe

Salsa Ingredients

Tomatoes, chopped, & peeled (2-3 lbs)  (I prefer paste tomatoes for this)

20 Jalapeno Peppers, chopped

12 Tomatillos

1 lb chopped onions

3 El Chaco peppers

3 Serrano Peppers (both toasted and reconstituted)

4 sweet red peppers, chopped

1 anaheim pepper, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 cup chopped cilantro

1 bulb Garlic

¼-1/2 cup lime juice (or 1 tbl lime juice per pint that you are canning)

3 tsp cumin seeds, toasted and ground

3 tsp black pepper

2 tsp Salt per pint that you are canning

¾ cup white vinegar

3 tsp basil

3 tsp oregano

Note:  I have made this with dried and fresh peppers, and I prefer the fresh ones when I have them.  When they’re fresh I just destem the peppers and rough chop them rather than pureeing.  Deseeding is tedious but looks a bit neater.

Combine the reconstituted el chaco & Serrano peppers, cumin, peeled garlic, black pepper, salt, basil and oregano and puree.

I blanched the tomatoes after making a slit in the skin until the skin loosened and started to peel back, then I peeled, stemmed, and cored them.  This step greatly reduces your tomato volume, but is necessary in a cooked salsa.

Blanch the tomatillos for 3 minutes at a rolling boil.  Puree, and allow to cool before adding to the mixture.

Mix the tomatoes, jalapenos, onions and the other peppers in a bowl with the lime juice and the cilantro.  (If you are doing fresh peppers, add them here, rather than into the vinegar. )

Add the puree and the vinegar to a large stainless steel or enamel lined pot and bring to a boil, then remove from heat.  Cool for 10 minutes then add to the mix of vegetables.  (If you are doing fresh peppers, just bring the vinegar to a boil).

We have found that any fresh vegetables need to be “cooked” as minimally as possible.  Don’t forget that the processing step in the canner does cook them as well.

Add the mixture to hot pint jars using modern approved instructions (like from the Ball Blue Canning Book).  Seal and pressure can for 15 minutes.

In this recipe today we used the following from our own garden:  El Chacos, Serranos, Anaheim, Jalapenos, Onions, Garlic, Tomatillos, Tomatoes, Basil, and Oregano.  You can vary the heat in this recipe by using different peppers.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Preserved Salsa Recipe”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    I love trying new salsa recipes. I snagged this one to use later when my peppers and tomatoes are on.

  2. Daphne Says:

    I can’t wait until I can start canning salsa too. I love it so much. I just have to find the recipe I want, so I’ll have to try yours.

  3. thyme2garden Says:

    I’ve only made fresh salsa before. I never even thought about making enough salsa to can. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

