Venison Roast

A lot of people I know only really eat the loin of the deer as a “piece of meat”.  The rest is either discarded or made into sausage, jerky, or dog food.  But there are ways to cook this lean red meat that lend themselves to the more modern American palette.

Over Thanksgiving my Uncle gave me a whole deer haunch, which we promptly transferred to our freezer.  And yesterday I cooked it, and was rewarded with murmurs of pleasure from my spouse and my son.

So here is a my crock pot venison roast recipe (technically what I was given was a ham I guess, but this should work for any roast of venison).

 

Brine the venison overnight, adding a cup of salt per two gallons of water.  Rinse with water afterward.

Trim the meat.  You really must remove any traces of blue-white membrance.  Large pieces of venison likely have the membrane running down through the meat in a couple of places as well as being on the outside.  Don’t hesitate to cut the meat into large chunks in order to get at it.  Basically I trimmed away anything that wasn’t hard white fat, and I didn’t worry about trimming away some meat while I got everything.

I ended up with 8-12 chunks of meat roughly the size of my fist, and tossed them into the crock pot.

To this I added:

1/2 bottle of hard cider (I used Scrumpy’s)

3-6 tablespoons black pepper

1/4 cup of red wine

1 cup of chicken broth/stock

1 coarsely sliced onion

2 tsps dried thyme

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons worchester sauce

The level of the liquid was almost, but not quite enough to immerse the meat.

Turn the crockpot on low and walk away for 9-10 hours

 

The result was flavorful, clearly venison, fork-tender, and yummy.  I roasted some potatoes, carrots, and butternut squash and heated up some of our home-canned green beans, and dinner was served.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

