Weekly Garden Update: July 31st

July 31, Weekly Garden Update:

My son in a Tree when he was Younger

To start with, I want to express my extreme pleasure that my son just matriculated from high school a year early!  I’m so very proud of him.  He got his test scores back yesterday and consistently scored in the top 1-3% in the nation for high school students.  When he was 16 I thought we might have to kill him to get any peace, but a year and a half later he has finalized this period of his life by reverting to form, which is that of an extremely bright and thoughtful individual.

*                                                               *                                                             *

Apple in the Tree

We have blueberries, but the two blueberry pictures I took didn’t come out.  But look, here is an apple!  No figs this year, but the fig trees are growing on schedule, and are six feet tall.  In two years we should have 12’ fig trees and figs galore.

Black Jack Fig Tree

Our Yukon gold potatoes appear to be happy, and the russets are really springing up now.  This is our second succession of potatoes this year.

Russetts

Yukons

The Harvest has been good this week.  We have harvested cucumbers, Haricot Verts, Blue Lake green beans, Dutch-Half runner green beans, oodles of Tomatoes, Italian Sweet Relleno peppers, Ancho peppers, Anaheim peppers, Green bell peppers, Jalapenos, and Cayennes.  In addition, I dried an entire crop of basil, which doesn’t seem to have dented the production of same.  We got a lovely eggplant, which we’ll be eating this week.

Harvest 1

More harvest, different day

The whole garden is looking lush this week.  The melons and butternut squash are breaking free of their boxes and trellises and running wild.

Squash gone Wild!

Melons

The field peas are blooming, and the butter beans are too.

Field Peas

Butter Beans

Dutch Half-runners

Image if these dutch half-runners were full on pole beans…they’re already more than 8-9 feet long in places.

Fresh ground Cayenne Powder

I took all those cayenne peppers that you’ve been seeing pictures of and dried them for about 16 hours in a 170 degree oven.  Then this morning I put them all in my spice grinder and made some lovely cayenne powder that smells sweet like honeysuckle and then bites like moonshine.

An Eggplant in the Garden

We’ve been eating on the hot pepper jelly I made last week, and it seems to have addictive qualities.

A local biodynamic farmer is gonna give us some kaolin clay powder to spray on our plants and try out.  I’ll be going up to his farm this week to pick it up and deliver him a jar of the watermelon rind pickle from the watermelon he sold us.

Reach for the Sky!

Haricot Verts

Mycorrhizal Fungi - visible evidence

Flowers in the Apple Orchard

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Weekly Garden Update: July 31st”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Your garden looks amazing! No figs yet huh? I love the look of the tree.

  2. kitsapFG Says:

    I had to laugh about your comment about your son. Been there and done that with our daughter and she really is a bright and capable human being – just posed more of a trial for a while before reverting back to the good person she was before and has been thereafter! 😀

    The cayenne pepper gring looks absolutely marvelous!

  3. thyme2garden Says:

    Congratulations your son’s accomplishments! I guess your growing talents extend past your garden! 🙂

    I love love love looking at pictures of all different parts of your garden and how everything is growing so well with and without trellises. It’s definitely sensory overload trying to take in how you have so many vegetables growing in your garden, but I still love it! I’m excited for your fig tree, too. So many different peppers, and you have your own homemade cayenne powder – WOW.

  4. foodgardenkitchen Says:

    It just warms the fuzzy little cockles of my heart to get hear such feedback, and thank you!

    meemsnyc: Nope, no figs yet, but when I think about the Black Mission fig I planted up on the farm, and how much production comes off it every year, I’m not worried.

    kitsapFG: My father claims he doesn’t remember me being a pain, but I remember him threatening to install me in the Masonic Orphanage….

    thyme2garden: Every week I shoot like 50 pictures, and then start eliminating them due to my inept shooting skills combined with my terrible under $70 digital camera. I have dreams of having a fancy $300 dollar digital with close up, wide, and fish eye lenses….

    An electric spice grinder / coffee grinder is one of the best things I ever got. I don’t even use it for coffee, I just grind dried herbs, and whole spices in it — it has exceeded my every expectation for something that is “worth it” in the kitchen. Today I’ll be grinding up the dried celery leaves from my weekend harvest of a celery plant (I put them in the oven at 170 degrees hours and hours until dry).

  5. Daphne Says:

    I love the harvest photos. I have cayennes every year and every year I mean to powder some to use. But I don’t have a spice mill. I use my mini food processor and I’m too afraid to use it as it put the powder into the air sometimes. I suppose I could just stay out of the kitchen for a while before I package it up.

Leave a Reply

