Weekly Garden Update: August 22

Well we’ve had an eventful week.

The dog discovered 3 small rabbits living in amongst the butter beans.  She got one, thankfully killed it quickly.  One ran across the yard into the woods, and one hid successfully (except from us) in the box.  Three days later I was mowing by a large oak stump, and one of the two remaining small rabbits leaped out from under an oak sucker and then froze in a patch of tall grass.  I picked it up, and carried out into the woods past the invisible fence, and let it go in the brushpile hedgerow I’ve been building since we moved in, telling it “This is where you can live, if you are smart.  Learn to avoid the dog, and don’t dig in my boxes and you’ll be just fine.”

Squash!

BIG squash

Lettuce, broccoli raab, broccoli, cauliflower, the kale, brussels sprouts, mustards, swiss chard, and beets are all coming up and doing well.  We’ve decided we want to cover at least 2 more boxes for the fall / winter.

The tomatoes have begun the “losing leaves” process a bit more stringently.  We’re still getting a decent harvest, but it is clear now that the peak has come and gone.

Volunteers

Box 1

Box 2

Box 3

The melons and the butternut continue their mad plan to “cover the earth”.  I’ve named them Pinky and Brain.

Melons & Butternut

We had a delicious eggplant this week, and we have another one to harvest tomorrow or the next day for another meal, and yet another one that will be ready the next week.  We’ve decided that one eggplant a week production is ideal.

Harvest!

More Harvest!

We have harvested green beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, 1/2 a melon, field peas, butter beans, and all sorts of peppers.

Pimientos, Anchos, Cucumber, Serranos

Peas and a few Butter Beans

Did ya see how I slipped in that “1/2 a melon”?  Yeah, that’s right.  We came down the morning we were going to harvest the charentais melon, and some critter had removed it from the vine, moved it, and carefully carefully eaten one-half of it, leaving a nice little pile of seeds next to it.  I just have to figure it was a raccoon.  I took pictures of in “in-situ”, brought it in and washed it, cleaned out the seeds and pulp, and got 5 nice little slices out of it.  I can only imagine the joy of the critter that got to eat the other half.

Half a charentais

In canning news, I pickled oodles of Jalapenos this week, as well as tomato sauce, and green beans.

And last, but not least THE APPLE

The Apple

This is the first apple ever from this particular tree.  Being so, it occupies a unique position in my wee brain, rather like having the first sip of water from a well.  I put it on some porcelain and took pictures of it, and we plan to eat it with great ceremony.   Ok, fine, so I’m a romantic.

Marconi 1

Another Marconi

Oregano

Russets

Yukons

Bells

Basil

Cayenne & Serrano

Cayenne, Serrano, Jalapeno

Ancho

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Weekly Garden Update: August 22”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Everything looks wonderful! Bless you for moving that young bunny to another (hopefully) safer location. While I am not against killing things that destroy the garden – I much prefer the more humane approaches whenever possible. It looks like you continue to enjoy a bountiful harvest from your garden. I had to laugh at the Pinky and the Brain naming for the melon patch as that happens every year here too. I just plan on it happening and go with the flow. My pumpkin vines are running all over the walkways and into adjoining beds. Happy and healthy!

  2. melissa Says:

    Love your garden! Just found your blog from your comment on Sustainable eats! I have to agree with the no children/less people thing. I garden a bit south of you in the midlands area of South Carolina. Those Marconi Peppers look awesome!

  3. Wendy Says:

    garden looks great! Too bad about the charentais. I have ONE in my garden that I’m guarding against the raccoons.

    Interesting comments on your home page. I find my family visits my blog often but never leave comments!

  4. Laura Says:

    Your garden looks lovely! Ours is much more…um…well, let’s say we tend to gravitate towards plants that thrive on neglect because they get lots of it!

    Also, being in the Pacific NW we grow very different things…I have a lot more berries than you do, for example. We, too, are hoping to have mostly raised bed boxes and no grass…someday.

  5. spamwise Says:

    This is so wonderful to see and read about.

Leave a Reply

