9/5 Weekly Garden Update

Green beans

We are now clearly into late season garden phases here.  No rain for at least the past couple weeks (Earl notwithstanding) and there is none forecast for the next 10 days either.

Garden 1

Garden 2

The cursed deer ate my 6 apples on the other apple tree that was producing this year.  I would curse them less had I had a chance to have eaten just one from it.  They also stripped the tips of several limbs of leaves.

Garden 3

Garden 4

We have begun ripping out a few tomato vines, all the blue lake bush beans, and we plan to continue as items stop producing.

Garden 5

However we’re still getting harvests of cucumbers, tomatoes, Dutch half-runner green beans, field peas, butter beans, and all kinds of peppers.  I have enough picked anchos now to dry, and they should make the base of a nice chili powder.

Anchos, etc.

Melons, etc.

Charentais

We got 2 charentais melons, and 1 moon & stars watermelon.  We have more ripening of both.  The butternut squash is now putting more of its efforts into making little squashes, if it continues at this rate and we are able to harvest all of them we might get as many as 20 to store in the basement and eat throughout the winter.

Field peas & Eggplant

We’re still putting up green beans.  The last time I canned them, I had a rare occurrence, i.e., a jar that didn’t seal.  We warmed them up in the microwave and they were really really good, clearly the next best thing ever to having them fresh from being picked.  They beat the dickens out of the blanched and frozen ones we did last year.

Bucket o' Harvest

One day's pickins'

Voles are seeking to make inroads.  I keep trying to poison them as fast as they show new tunnels.  Sammie Squirrels are stealing tomatoes and running off to the woods with them, little orang- red blobs in their mouths.  Deer are starting to nibble on our green bean vines.  I seriously contemplate building a deer blind on my porch so that I can have some nice venison tenderloins, squirrel stew & barbecued squirrel.

Peppers

Sage

Mustard and kale seedlings are doing well!  Cabbages, broccoli and other brassicas are coming along.  The lettuce and carrots could not stand the heat and the desiccation we are currently having and will have to be replanted.

Seedlings

Seedlings 2

We put up another cover on a box.  This morning it was 67 degrees outside, fall is peeking over the horizon of Labor Day.

Irrepressible Basil

Squash & Melon plants

Parsley

Lettuce in a Box

Well that’s all for now!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “9/5 Weekly Garden Update”

  1. thyme2garden Says:

    I really enjoy looking at pictures of your organized garden. Sorry to hear about the deer damage. I complain about all the pests (bugs, bunnies, birds, diseases) in my garden, but I guess deer is one thing I don’t have to worry about. The Charantais melon looks delicious!

  2. kitsapFG Says:

    Darn Deer! Once they find your garden, it can be a real problem. That melon looks totally delicious! Wow!

    We are alread in very fall like weather here, so the summer garden items are just fizzling and not producing much of anything. Slowly transitioning to the fall crops at this point but not quite ready to give up on the summer items completely.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Great update! I love seeing what others have in their garden. I understand your pain when it comes to garden pests. It feels like a constant battle. I wish I had the restraint to let it bother me but when I feel as though a critter has taken more than its fair share, I tend to go ape sh*t. hahaha.

    How did you like the charantais?

  4. gardengoodies Says:

    “I seriously contemplate building a deer blind on my porch so that I can have some nice venison tenderloins, squirrel stew & barbecued squirrel.”

    Sounds like a plan to me.

Leave a Reply

