Weekly Update: November 21

The garlic is peeping up!  We’re very happy not to have to wait until spring to see.  Despite the weather, all our herbs are still doing very well.  We harvested more greens this week.   Other than that, there isn’t a lot to talk about with the garden.

I made biscuits this morning, and diverged from my normal plain biscuits and added some roughly chopped cheese, a small jar of drained pimientos, and some black pepper.

 

Breakfast

 

I have put off, and put off again, making a post about biscuits, and listing my biscuit recipe.  The truth is, I feel like a heretic.  I was raised to think of biscuits in a particular way, and departing in any way from that always seems a little “wrong” to me.  But years and years of making biscuits and experimenting with them, altering recipes in small ways just to see what happens next, has made me rather opinionated on the topic.

Yes, it’s true that you can make perfectly decent biscuits with just flour, water, and lard.  It helps if you have a touch for it, which is something that I’ve never been able to explain.

 

Plate o' Biscuits

 

But it’s easier to make biscuits that more people enjoy by adding a few more ingredients.  So today I’m posting my biscuit recipe in the other section.  And I have attempted to minimize my commentary, story-telling, extreme opinions, and sneering at some of the other types of biscuits from other places, all the while feeling guilty for putting in anything but soft winter wheat flour, because experience has taught me that mixing the flours changes the texture of the biscuit in an advantageous way.

I expect that some other people may take this recipe, and do what I do, which is change it immediately.  I just want to point out that if you make these biscuits using vegetable shortening, don’t come complaining to me.  Maybe *your* grandmother only made them that way, and they were great, but I cannot make them come out tasting decent using vegetable shortening.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Weekly Update: November 21”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    I just recently learned how to make biscuits. I always thought it was difficult but it’s actually pretty easy. These look yummy.

  2. Madame C Says:

    Thank you for an interesting post! I have to check the recipe out:)

  3. Veggie PAK Says:

    Great post about biscuits! I generally try to eat as many as I can get my hands on. You knew a post about baking biscuits would get a “rise” out of some people! Ha! Ha!

    I appreciate what you say about vegetable shortening as well. Some new things just aren’t the same as the old standby’s.

    Thanks!

  4. kitsapFG Says:

    We northerners have to specifically seek out the soft wheat flour as our flour blends are almost always heavier on the hard wheat varieties. There is a reason why the southern cooks are known for their fine biscuits!

Leave a Reply

