Weekly Update: 1/30/11

Weekly Update:  1/30/2011

Planting time has started.

 

Yesterday we (once again) removed covers from some of our boxes since we have a few days of weather averaging above freezing.

 

Voles continue to be a periodic problem.  Other than saturation bombing our garden I’m not sure there is a way to get rid of all of them.

 

*Something* chewed through the plastic fencing to get into a box that has nothing planted in it.  Then it dug around in a wide shallow area.  We have no idea what possessed whatever critter it was.

 

We also cleaned the seed germination area and got everything ready for today.  We’re planting yellow granex onions, dawn giant leeks, and what might be our last effort at broccoli and cauliflower, three varieties of the broccoli and two of the cauliflower.  We’ve not had much luck with them the past several years, and if we don’t get some production this year we’ll probably just reassign the garden space to something that does produce.

 

We have been doing mung bean sprouts for over a year now, when the fit hits us.  We like them in salads, particularly.  We recently purchased a mason jar sprouting lid so that we can do smaller seeds, and picked up a sprout mixture at the same time consisting of alfalfa, radish, mung bean, lentil, and broccoli.  Grabbed one of our quart canning jars, and now we’re off to the races.

 

We’ve been enjoying the fruits of our canning efforts from this summer.  Pepper jelly, pickles (cucumbers), pickled jalapenos, green beans, tomato sauce, and other products.  So far the feedback from our Christmas gifts of pepper jelly and watermelon rind pickles has been very positive.

 

My father gifted me with venison and quail and wild ducks recently.  Last night I cooked duck breasts, and tomorrow I’m doing some venison steaks.  I’ll attach the recipe for the duck breasts in the recipe section, they were delicious.  For the other of us, it was the first time she’d had wild duck, so I’m pleased they came out.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Weekly Update: 1/30/11”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    I’ve been wanting to try growing sprouts with that mason jar method. I have to find where they sell those sprout lids.

  2. kitsapfg Says:

    The sprouts and fresh game sounds like good eating. I hope you have better luck this year with the broccoli and cauliflower.

  3. Robin Says:

    My husband sprouts mung beans in the refrigerator in a mason jar with cheese cloth for a lid. It works really well.

  4. Barbie Says:

    All I know is thank goodness I don’t know what a vole is, nor will I even go look it up in fear of inviting one in! I am however sorry you are dealing with them. They don’t hibernate at least leaving you be in the fall and winter?

  5. Jane Says:

    I couldn’t grow cauliflower but broccoli has grown surprisingly well. You might try piracicaba as it seems to be very adaptable. It’s a large plant but the broccoli is tender and sweet. How wonderful to have all that wild game to cook!

  6. Daphne Gould Says:

    Oh I miss venison. I grew up on the stuff. My dad hunts, but he lives in Colorado so he doesn’t share with me. My brother who still lives there gets some though.

    I love pepper jelly. I didn’t make any thins year. Hopefully I will get to this year. I’m not a big fan of mayo but love to use hot pepper jelly instead in my sandwiches. It gives them a nice little kick and a touch of sweetness.

  7. meemsnyc Says:

    I’ve been thinking about doing sprouts, especially alfalfa. Where did you get your lids from?

Leave a Reply

