Weekly Garden Update: July 17th

Peppers Galore!

Harvests this week include:  Italian sweet, Anaheim, cayenne, and jalapeno peppers; cucumbers, tomatoes, half runner beans, okra, haricots vert, eggplants, basil,  cabbage, and parsley.  There is plenty of fresh sage, dill, mint, tarragon, oregano, and rosemary whenever I want it.  A number of these harvests happened more than once.  The pictures are only samples of what we got, not everything had a picture that came out.

Tomatoes

More Peppers (and cucumbers)

Bits & Pieces

Assortment of Vegetables

Another Assortment of Vegetables

The big harvest this week was the potatoes.  We estimate we have between 50 and 60 lbs of Kennebec and red Pontiac potatoes from the 3 boxes we planted.

Potato harvest 1

Potato harvest 2

We have been using (and preserving) the harvest.  This week we made refrigerator pickles, canned 6 pints of haricot vert,and dinner every night has fresh produce.  We also canned the first 3 pints of tomato sauce of the season, and I turned my hand to canning pepper/onion relish (which is good, but I think I can do better this next time).  We took all the damaged, gnawed on, or otherwise imperfect potatoes, cleaned and prepped them, and boiled them — then ate potatoes all week.

Front squash

Two charentais melon plants died, as did one Lakota squash.  Another butternut squash doesn’t look too good.  We’re not sure what the problem is.  Apparently we need to propitiate the gods of squash and melons somewhere.

The first butter bean pods are forming!  Rain has been scarce, we watered out of the rain barrels this week.  Something is killing one of my apple trees, and I’m pretty upset about it.  I keep trying to snip off bits to contain the damage, but at this point I just feel like I’m helping kill it.  Though today when I went out, it looked better (naturally, now that I decided to mention it) than it has in weeks.  Personally I think it is cedar rust – unfortunately there are cedar trees around us (not on my land).  I used to adore cedar trees as a child, particularly for our christmas tree; but then I learned that cedar trees (and walnut and pecan trees) tend to poison the ground around them for other plants, which has put a permanent damper on my appreciation of them.

Peppers

Garden 1

Overall though, the garden is doing very well.  We’re experiencing new growth in the asparagus bed, the 8’ trellises are not high enough for tomatoes or tomatillos, and we’re beginning to think we should have used 6’ trellises for the field peas (which is just insane).

Empty Onion and Potato Boxes

Red peppers

Green Peppers

Even more peppers

Garden 2

Younger squash

Asparagus Bed

One last peppers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Weekly Garden Update: July 17th”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    You have such a great variety of peppers! They are hard to grow in our area (not enough warmth) so I feel grateful just to pull off a reasonable harvest of one variety – let alone a bounty of multiple varieties like you are hauling in.

    Good job on the potato harvest! I stole the first potatoes out from my plants today and they were a good showing. Our big potato harvest is still more than a month away though, as I usually do that around the Labor Day weekend when the weather is cooler so they will store better.

  2. Diana Says:

    Hot looking beautiful pepper harvest you have there! Nice potato harvest too.

  3. Allison @ Novice Life Says:

    Your gardens look beautiful! Love the asparagus bed!! And your peppers look fantastic! Congrats on your harvest!

  4. Barbie Says:

    Oh my! I don’t think I’ve ever seen peppers spring started so large by July before. Beautiful!

  5. emily Says:

    Your variety of peppers is amazing. The potato harvest is nice too. It should keep you in potatoes all winter.

  6. randomgardener Says:

    What zone are you in? Peppers look awesome! I love your garden.

  7. Daphne Says:

    That is a lot of potatoes. I keep seeing others harvest their potatoes and I wonder when mine will be ready. They haven’t started dying down yet, but were blooming last month or at least some of them were.

  8. meemsnyc Says:

    I’m totally amazed by all the peppers you have growing. It’s gorgeous. Sorry to hear about the dying apple tree. The poisoning from the cedar tree sounds horrible.

Leave a Reply

