2 October 2011 Weekly Garden Update

…and October comes in like a polar bear…

Today we woke up to an exterior temperature of 45 degrees, and this cooler weather is supposed to last most of a week.  The whethermen (no, that’s not a typo) are predicting an overnight low of 39 tonight.

Harvest One

Harvests:

6 long purple eggplants, 3 black beauty eggplants, green beans, radishes, cucumbers, g**@(*)#ing peppers, field peas and lima beans, okra, tomatillos, and tomatoes.

Harvest Two

Today we are pulling up the okra, 2 boxes of tomato plants, and a box of green beans.  As of next year we are designating the box behind the asparagus bed (where we grew peppers and okra and stuff this year) as the “Herb box”.  I moved the container rosemary into the left edge of the box where the okra was, and other “perennial” plants will be moved into it over time, including ones that just reseed themselves, like dill.

About to be pulled up

With this cooler weather we may have a continuing supply, or we may not.  We are eagerly anticipating picking more greens and some lettuce this week, and other fall/winter crops look like they’re doing ok.  We have a yellow summer squash that we’ll be harvesting soon, so more yay!

The Winter Squash Blues continue.  The winter squashes keep throwing disappointments our way.  The fruit eventually starts to rot and then detaches from the vine.  We think this may be a pollination problem, but we got out there and hand pollinated a couple of times so who knows? (if you know, speak up).  Two of the squash were already over a couple of pounds when they suddenly rotted and detached.

Garden One

In August I was thrilled and bragging that we had had such a wonderful green bean production in June and July.  By the end of August I was amazed and proud that I was still canning green beans.  I’m *STILL* canning green beans, and at this point I’m afraid I’ll still be doing it until judgment day.  It’s just unnatural to have green beans producing until October.  It’s hard to convince myself that maybe I could occasionally just pull something up before it ceases production.  I’m tired of canning roasted peppers and making salsa verde (on the one hand); but on the other hand we still have room in the upcoming eating schedule for stuff like that so it seems silly to stop.  This morning I’m canning another 4 pints of greens beans, and tomorrow I’ll be making more stuff.

Curiously, the thing I need the least of is hot sauce, but it is the thing I enjoy making more of the most (along with pepper jelly).  It’s easy and visual displays are very rewarding, so I’ll compensate myself for being practical and productive this week by making more hot sauce.  I have no idea who will eat it all — though we love hot food, you can’t eat it every day all the time.  Many of the folks who in my youth loved hot stuff now forego it, and I surprisingly know very few true capsicum addicts these days.

Side Boxes

Fall/Winter Crops

Lettuces

Greens

Carrots, Etc.

Summer Squash in October

Tags: , , , , ,

8 Responses to “2 October 2011 Weekly Garden Update”

  1. Robin Says:

    Boy, it definitely cooled down! I think that this is the year of the pepper! They just won’t quit!

    Your fall garden looks great! I have no idea what is going on with your squash. Usually if it’s a pollination problem, they don’t really grow and then die. I hope that you figure out what it is.

  2. Diana Says:

    Your harvest look so good and glossy shining! There are still many things to harvest from your garden although the weather getting cold. So productive.

  3. kitsapfg Says:

    The garden is doing great – particularly those beans and peppers! 😀

    Every pollination problem I have experienced with squash has had the rotting and detachment occur while the fruits were still very small with no growth to speak of before hand. Not sure what is happening with yours if they are getting some size to them before it happens.

  4. Barbie Says:

    Last time I had that problem with my squash I finally picked only one to let grow and culled the rest. Worked like a charm. Once it got to about 6 or so pounds I let the next one set (was quite smaller) and had 2 for total but 2 was better than none!

  5. randomgardener Says:

    Wow, nice harvests! I’m amazed you’re garden still looks productive!

  6. Cesar's Garden Says:

    I am impressed by the amount of veggies you take care of and will be enjoying this winter! Wonderful:)
    Have a lovely week,
    Charlotta

  7. Norma Chang Says:

    Your harvest is gorgeous and you still have so much growing. What zone are you in? Your growing season is probably much longer than mine.

    • foodgardenkitchen Says:

      All the information on our zone, how much we have in box space, etcetera are all located on our About page. From there you can get even more details regarding our backgrounds and motivation. Thanks for your comment and interest.

Leave a Reply

