4 December 2011 – Weekly Update

Another quiet week in the Garden.

Mung Bean Sprouts

We harvested lettuces, cilantro, parsley, sage.  We grew some more mung bean sprouts in a jar.

We’ve been using items preserved from the summer:  canned tomato sauce, canned green beans & haricots verts, canned roasted sweet peppers, frozen butter beans, hot sauce, dried herbs.

Lettuces

It got down to 27 degrees a couple of nights so we covered the crops again.  We have a cabbage that is ready to harvest.  I foresee boiled cabbage and potatoes in my future, and maybe some nice simple cole slaw to go with some bratwursts.

I made lamb meatballs last night and used some of the last of the refrigerated green bell peppers from the garden, along with fresh parsley and cilantro, and a bit of sage in amongst the other ingredients in my recipe.

We’re down to the very last 4 very small (thumb-sized) tomatoes picked while green.  We picked all the tomatoes in the week prior to the October 9 update; so that has been *awhile*.  They’ve just been sitting on the counter all this time while we ate their compatriots.  Mostly they’ve gone into salads.  Nearly all the green tomatoes ripened on the counter without any rotting.

We ordered country ham from AB Vannoy hams again (hurrah for them!).  This time I tried a whole ham pre-sliced.  Next time I’ll go back to ordering a whole unsliced ham and then slicing it myself, for two big reasons. When you cook a ham whole in the oven for several hours, it helps the connective tissue to break down (making it more tender) and it also renders the fat very slowly (which ensures that the fat doesn’t burn).  The fat covers most of the exterior of the ham and helps seal in the juices and everything just comes out better.  Furthermore, I like to slice my country ham very very very thin.  You really can’t slice it too thin for me, and that also contributes a synergistic effect to the feel of it in the mouth when you eat it.

I am about to bake a cake and frost it with caramel made by boiling sweetened condensed milk in a can.  I’ll report back next week on how it goes, if I remember.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “4 December 2011 – Weekly Update”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Well your whole post is making me hungry and I just had a snack! LOL! The ham sounds lovely and I look forward to hearing how that frosting comes out.

    Good work on ripening so many of your tomatoes off the vine. We have to do that alot because our night time temps never get very warm – even during the middle of summer.

  2. Wilderness Says:

    Laura I agree with you everything sounds so good. I have heard of the canned condensed milk thing but never tried it. I too ripen most of my tomatoes off the fine.

    It is so funny I just asked Norma about growing bean sprouts then I come here and you have them pictured. Please tell me how you do it and do you only use them fresh or do you also can them for later use?

  3. Robin Says:

    Your lettuce looks great! I need to go out and harvest some for dinner tonight!

    Anything made with sweetened condensed milk should be great!

  4. Mary Hysong Says:

    Everything looks very yummy; you are making me hungry! I love to roast a big old ham, then package up meat for the freezer for recipes, then make a big pot of 15 bean soup with the bone and leftovers….

  5. Norma Chang Says:

    Your ham is making me hungry and I had dinner. I agree, slicing country very thinly is the way to go.

  6. My Urban Gardens Says:

    Yummy!!! Sounds so good… 🙂

    Lynn

  7. leduesorelle Says:

    It may have been a quiet week in the garden, but sounds like a satisfyingly busy one in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

