Homebrew Journal #2

Early in October I posted my first Homebrew Journal about making Hard Cider, and promised to update when I had anything to report.

By Thanksgiving, all visible signs of fermentation had ceased in the carboy, and most solid particulates had settled to the bottom or gravitated to the sides of the jar.

I tasted it!  It has a nice cider taste, slightly sweet and apple-like.  It was not too dry, too astringent, too hard, or too anything, actually.  I am pleasantly surprised at my first efforts after so much time.

I’ve been saving champagne / asti spumonte / other bubbly bottles for some time.  I bought a pack of 12 plastic champagne corks and the wires to bind them, some english apple cider liquid yeast, and some Stevia.

I had already bought this lovely little auto-syphon hose.  It functions by pressing the mechanical pen-like tip to the bottom of the bottle, whereupon it opens a channel that allows the liquid to flow through the tube and into the bottom, filling it from the bottom up.  Lifting the tip off the bottom immediately stops the flow of liquid, allowing you to change bottles without haste or making a mess.  It has just enough tube in the bottle that if you fill the bottle nearly to the brim, when you withdraw the tube the liquid is at the right part of the neck.

I bottled 7 champagne style bottles this way, after putting 1/2 teaspoon stevia and 1/2 tsp liquid cider yeast (warmed to room temperature previously) and some yeast nutrient  in each bottle.

I am hoping via this process to get bubbly (from the secondary fermentation of the yeast) hard sweet (from the non-sugar sweetener) cider.  If you try to sweeten it with sugar, all you will get is more fermentation.

I anticipate cracking a bottle of it the week before Christmas to check its progress.  If it is sufficiently good, a few people might be getting a bottle in their Christmas gifts.

Now I just have to figure out what to call it, and get my wonderful spouse to make me some super labels.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Homebrew Journal #2”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    That sounds wonderful!

  2. Mike Says:

    Your hard cider sounds great, this is something we hope to try ourselves in the near future as more of our apple trees start bearing fruits.

  3. Diana Says:

    Oh whomever receive this as Christmas gift is so lucky!

Leave a Reply

