25 December Weekly Update – Merry Merry

Ho Ho Ho!

Well with all the getting ready for christmas cheer this week, and having my son home from college we didn’t get around to doing the Onion seeds yesterday or the day before.  I don’t know why we thought we’d have time for that, but hey.

Christmas Tree

We put up The Tree this week.  The Tree and The Family pretty much define the core of our christmas traditions.

The cooking/blog related gifts this morning made me so excited that you get to see pictures of them.   Of course, I’ve had my Julia Child and my Bill Neal and my Edna Lewis for many years, and a few years ago I was lucky enough to get a copy of Vincent Price’s “A Treasury of Great Recipes“.  But I never quite got these books, though I have lusted after them.  Now the looming major acquisition would be the Larousse Gastronomique.  At any rate, I have enough cooking reading to do for a whole year now.  I also got a mandolin with stainless blade.  I don’t *need* a mandolin any more than I need a rotating meat slicer, but they can be very useful several times a year and I’m thrilled to have it.

Pepin! Methode et Technique!

9th Edition: TPC

No garden news at all really, though it has warmed up enough this week that we uncovered everything all week.

Had a christmas eve dinner last night at my father’s house that couldn’t be beat:  country ham, turkey, cornbread dressing, oyster dressing, haricots verts, butter beans, corn pudding, gravy, etcetera; and our family’s signature pale fruit cake for dessert, with a tot of port.  A lovely time was had by all.

Tomorrow I’m going quail hunting.  With any luck I’ll be able to stock up on several meals worth of yummy little partridges (2 per person per meal).

Last, but not least:

Appalachian Old Farm Apple Scumble

Bottled Cider in a Row

I had reported in my homebrewing journal posts that I had bottled my hard cider and started it on a second fermentation.  These are the bottles with the fabulous labels the other one of us made.  The cider is good, I’m happy with the cider, but the labels really make it for me.  Hurrah!

See you next week in the New Year!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “25 December Weekly Update – Merry Merry”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Christmas eve dinner sounds delicious! Good luck with the quail hunt. So glad your son was home for a visit. Our daughter came home for a visit over the holiday too. It was the highlight of the Christmas season to have her home. Happy holidays to you and your family.

  2. Liz Says:

    Oh yay for cider, and I’m jealously coveting those cookbooks. Glad you had a lovely Christmas.

  3. Mary Hysong Says:

    Your dinner sounds so yummy! I adored the hard cider when I was in Ireland; Most places the choice was Guinness or cider and I’m not one for bitter beer so went for cider every time.

  4. My Urban Gardens Says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! 🙂

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

