Happy New Year! 1 January 2012 Update

Mixed Lettuces & Broccoli

Garden:

We picked 4 little broccoli shoots/heads this week, along with 2 heads of lettuce, some mizuna, cilantro, and some general leaf lettuce.

We started 2 trays of Texas Early Grano Onion seeds in the basement on 12/27.

Eating:

We’ve been eating out of the canned and frozen preserved food categories this week.  Everything is yummy.  The salsa verde is holding up better than I thought it would, we’ve had pickled jalapenos, corn, braised greens, butter beans, cream peas, and the green beans.  I keep getting good feedback on my canned green beans from people, particularly the haricots verts.

Hunting:

The quail hunt was a lot of fun.  We had six men and a mule team with a wagon and two guides.  We spent all day hunting, with a break in the middle for grilled dogs and burgers in the middle of the woods.  I brought home enough quail for 4 meals, tired out and well satisfied.

Cooking:

I’ve been sitting down every day with my two new Jacques Pepin books or my “the professional chef, 9th edition”.  They are a real pleasure to devour and absorb.

Cilantro

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Happy New Year! 1 January 2012 Update”

  1. Robin Says:

    It sounds like you are on top of your gardening! I have never eaten quail. How do you prepare it?

    • foodgardenkitchen Says:

      Happy New Year, Robin! We have posted three quail recipes in the “Recipes” column on our front page – Braised Quail with Figs, Smothered Quail, and Quail Stew. The “she” part of us had never eaten quail prior to three or so years ago either. But, like so many things, they’re fairly similar to chicken. There’s not much on a quail, even less than a Cornish Game Hen (which is just a very young chicken, but seemingly a whole different thing thanks to clever marketing!)

  2. Mary Hysong Says:

    oooh quail, haven’t eaten any in years, tho it crosses my mind occasionally to buy a shotgun and a license! Especially when the little buggers are eating up my garden!

    • foodgardenkitchen Says:

      Wow, you have wild quail. The quail hunting place the “he” part of us has gone to a few times has to breed their own and release them, although some of the coveys have gone wild and are now sustaining themselves. I have mixed feelings about the whole thing… It’s not quite like a captive hunt, but it’s not exactly wild either. Heck, I have mixed feelings about hunting in general 🙂

  3. Bee Girl (AKA Melissa) Says:

    Wonderful, green harvest! And quail?! I’ve never had quail! Sounds fantastic to hunt your own, especially getting 4 meals worth! Congrats!

  4. Norma Chang Says:

    Your garden season must be much earlier than ours. That’s a nice mixed lettuce harvest.

    • foodgardenkitchen Says:

      We’re currently harvesting things we planted out in late summer and we’re just lucky that it hasn’t been very cold this winter. So it’s not that we’re early, it’s that we’re able to harvest late this year due to the mild temperatures.

  5. kitsapFG Says:

    Lovely winter harvest of greens! You have been keeping very busy and eating well. 😀 I am starting the last round of onions this weekend as well. First of a long line of seed starting for the 2012 growing season.

  6. Dave Says:

    Sounds like you’re having a good time eating those preserved foods from the freezer and pantry. I do enjoy the slower pace that comes from cooking things that are already harvested!

    I had quail at my ‘old’ place in the country, but I never hunted them. I did enjoy eating some that someone gave me – so they did all the work!

  7. Mike Says:

    The hunting trip sounds like both a fun and rewarding experience…wagon train and all, very interesting. Looks like like you are well stocked with wonderful foods both fresh from the garden and with those that are preserved. Happy New Year.:)

  8. Liz Says:

    I think lettuce is amazing, it winter for you and summer for me but we are both harvesting lettuce and mizuna.

  9. Andrea Says:

    A day hunting quail and lunch in the woods sounds like a lot of fun! Isn’t it great to hear others have enjoyed your produce.

  10. My Urban Gardens Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

    Lynn

  11. Daphne Says:

    Wow starting onions already. But then you are in an earlier zone than I am. I’ll have to start mine this month though. First I have to order them though.

  12. Diana Says:

    Lovely green winter harvest. Oh I have not eaten quail for a long time. Sounds like a fun trip. Wishing you 2012 a good year for you.

  13. spamwise Says:

    I love that you have an abundance of possibility at this time of year.

    So wonderful.

  14. Kallie Says:

    My cilantro always bolts on me in this humid weather. I might have better luck with it in the fall but it’s too late to plant now! That’s the joy of the deep south! xx

Leave a Reply

