Cauliflower Soup

Before I get to the main event of the week, our minor updates are as follows:

We’re planting broccoli & cauliflower seeds today. Yesterday we made chicken stock from our saved chicken bones & bits. Today I plan on making the soup I talked about last week, and then I’ll report it next week.

And speaking of cauliflower:

One of my favorite food bloggers made cauliflower soup recently on Thursday Night Smackdown (TNS). And this week, after having posted last week on soup recipe designing, I found myself wanting some cauliflower soup, so I thought I’d make some up. I didn’t even try to follow her post or the recipe that she used from the imitable Hugh Acheson.  Once I saw “roasted cauliflower” I was off and running.

Ingredients:

2 heads cauliflower, broken up

1 large sweet onion, sliced

1 quart chicken stock

1 quart celery stock (made from blanching celery this summer in boiling water)

1 pint whole milk

Bay leaves, thyme, tarragon, marjoram, salt, pepper, sweet paprika, potato starch

Procedure:

I broke up the cauliflower heads, drizzled olive oil everywhere, and roasted them in a 400 degree oven on a cookie sheet, until they started to turn brown.

Roasted cauliflower

While this was happening, I took a page from my french onion soup recipe, sliced up an onion, salted it and then sauteed it in butter until the bottom had fond, scraped it up with a metal spatula, then deglazed and reduced again – eventually most of the onion was a brown caramelized goodness with lots of fond.

Onions starting to turn

I did a final deglaze with the chicken and celery stocks, added in the cauliflower, along with 4 bay leaves, some ground thyme, tarragon, marjoram, salt, pepper, and sweet paprika.  I brought it to a boil, then immediately turned it down to simmer and left it there for 45 minutes with the lid off, checking the liquid level occasionally while I watched it get slowly lower.

Cauliflower Soup before pureeing

Then I turned off the heat, let it cool a bit, then ran it through the blender to puree it all (after removing the bay leaves).  I poured it all back into the pot (no, I did not strain it), and cooked it down some more. Then I turned it off and put a lid on it.  30 minutes before serving, I added 1/4 cup of potato starch and whole milk mixed as a slurry, then the rest of the pint of milk.  Turned the heat back up to medium and let it simmer until it was time to serve.

We served this with some rice I steamed in the rice cooker. I added some harissa-flavored olive oil and some dill to the rice cooker so it came out nicely seasoned, then we ate it as a side dish or just added it to the bowl of soup.

Cauliflower Soup

You could strain this of course, but after browning the cauliflower and the onions I wasn’t really concerned about making a pretty creamy white soup presentation. I wanted to eat something that was nummy, and this was it. Or maybe I’m just lazy. Or maybe I wanted all the nutrition and didn’t want to strain out and throw away good cauliflower/onion bits.  Yeah!  That’s it!

I used whole milk instead of half&half or cream because I did not want it to be any sweeter and I was already worried about making sure the cauliflower taste came through (which is why I also did not deglaze the onion with sherry).

Also, you can vary the stocks/broths, and the ingredients all you want and still come out with some good stuff.  You could use broccoli and have green soup, or summer OR winter squash and have squash soup.  Once you start pureeing stuff you can let your imagination run wild. So, go forth and make soup!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Cauliflower Soup”

  1. Wilderness Says:

    Sounds like a nice hearty cream soup. I like to make either broccoli or cauliflower cheese soup for a nice change to a broth soup.

  2. kitsapFG Says:

    Roasting vegetables brings out such a beautiful flavor from them. I am sure this was really delicious.

  3. Daphne Says:

    Yum. I so love soup. Today it is Tuscan white bean and kale. I’ve never made it before.

  4. Barbie Says:

    Now that looks up my alley. I’m not huge on caulifower but that looks great!

  5. mac Says:

    Yum~~ delicious soup, thanks for sharing.

  6. Norma Chang Says:

    Bought a head of cauliflower yesterday (oh how I wish I could say it is from my garden), have onion in storage (from my garden) and broth in the freezer, I am good to go.

  7. Rick Says:

    Sound super delicious, thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

  8. Jennie-Team Dean Says:

    wow…sounds yummy. I am looking forward to cauliflower from the garden and have been looking for recipes. 🙂

  9. maryhysong Says:

    sounds yummy, but I”m kind of a lazy cook; just toss it all in the pot and simmer. Besides I hate washing dishes so try not to dirty up anything I don’t really have too 😉

  10. Diana Says:

    Delicious and healthy. Keeping you warm in your winter season.

  11. Seeds and Shovels Says:

    My cauliflower is just starting to form heads, I have two of them. I plan on eating them raw more than likely. Some things just aren’t worth cooking to me.

  12. Seeds and Shovels Says:

    I have never tried the roasting…I might have to give that a try!

  13. Christian Says:

    We have made these types of pureed soup with greens (radish tops or spinach) and also butternut squash. I’ll try the cauliflower soon. Immersion blenders are super useful in this case because you can blend in the pot.

Leave a Reply

